- Property code: WCLIFF
- Changeover day: Saturday
- Nearby shop
- Designated parking
- Nearby pub or restaurant
- Short Breaks available
- Washing machine
- Near Beach
Tucked away along the picturesque Polperro harbour with lovely views out to sea and just steps away from an award winning pub is West Cliffe, built into the the cliff, this quirky cosy cave apartment is a perfect couples get-away. Watch the fishermen’s boats glide in and out of the harbour from the comfort of the lounge or sample the local catch in one of the many good pubs and restaurants only a short amble away from the property. Should you be able to drag yourself away from this quintessential historic fishing village, then the nearby bustling seaside town of Looe will provide hours of entertainment, from crab fishing and enjoying the sandy beach to a delicious dinner in one of the numerous pubs, cafes or restaurants. The scenic coastal walks along the South West Coastal Path are on your doorstep and only a short drive will take you to the rest of the beautiful South Cornwall coast or even the famous Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. With so many holiday treats at your fingertips and a romantic apartment to return to, a memorable holiday is guaranteed.
Open plan living space with lounge, kitchen and dining area. Sitting room with leather sofa and armchair, flat screen Freeview TV, DVD player, stereo with CD player and a selection of games, books and DVDs. Kitchen with electric cooker, larder fridge with ice box, microwave, washer/dryer and dining area to seat four. Wet room with electric shower, WC (only sitting head room!) and hand basin. Double bedroom with 4ft 6in bed and harbour views.
Please note: This property is accessed via approximately 10 steps, so it may be unsuitable for the elderly or infirm. There is low headroom leading from the living area to the bedroom, so mind your head!
No outside space
Designated parking space at the public car park at the top of the village (approximately 10 minutes walk). Please note: There is no car access to the property.
- Included: Bed linen (towels provided from 2015 onwards, but no beach towels) and WiFi. electrics and heating.
- Pets: One well behaved dog permitted. At an additional cost of £25.00 per pet, per week.
- Telephone: Not provided. Mobile reception poor (Orange and T-Mobile/EE good).
- Local Facilities: Polperro beach 2 minutes walk. Talland beach 1 mile. Shops, pubs and restaurants all in Polperro. Looe with more facilities, 4 miles. Plymouth 25 miles. Truro 29 miles.
Fabulous will be coming back as often as we can!!
We are going to book again for next year it was so lovely and so much to do.
We love the location of where West Cliff Polperro is. The head room can sometimes be challenging, but we knew that when we booked. The only problem is the smell from the drains. We did mention that the last time we stayed there in October of last year. However, it was a little worse this year. On the whole we love it there and we had excellent service from you all at Toad Hall.
Thank you very much indeed for your useful feedback, we are so pleased to hear that you liked West Cliffe enough to come back again! We agree, the location is amazing. Thanks for mentioning the ‘drain’ smell, we are grateful to have it brought to our attention. Unfortunately, as West Cliffe is actually built into the cliff side overlooking the harbour, at certain times of year the drainage in the buildings in this whole area can suffer due to the weather/tides and temperature. Please rest assured that the drains belonging to the cottage itself are as clean as any normal domestic drainage system, and the caretakers work hard to ensure that they stay that way.
- The Toad Hall Team
I was disappointed by the cost of the electricity. It was very chilly last week..i couldn't even light a candle because of the breeze through the window. That's fine, it's an old cottage. However, in 2.5 days, I put £14 in and that was not using the oven or the tv and just one side light. I dread to think what it would cost if I had kept the heaters on and used everything. It would be nice if there were at least some tea bags on arrival. There are obviously no carpets on the apartment above and I could hear every footstep and the child screaming. I loved the position and the views and The Blue Peter served far and away the best food but I doubt I would return unless the heating became a fixed extra price.
Thank you very much for your useful feedback, we apologise that the electric meter seems to have gone wrong at West Cliffe during your stay. We are sorry that you did not bring this to our attention whilst you were here, we would have been more than happy to organise someone to look at it for you. As it is, please rest assured our electrician has now attended to it and it is working properly again. We are not great fans of coin meters in holiday properties in general (as you sadly discovered, they can be problematic when they break down) and have recommended that all owners include heating in their rental costs. Unfortunately, in certain cases, owners prefer that meters remain installed to help to keep on top of electricity charges. We will certainly discuss this with the owner of West Cliffe to try to avoid this problem in the future. We will also mention that a welcome pack of tea/coffee/milk would be appreciated. He will be pleased to hear that you would consider returning to the apartment if these points were rectified, it is so popular and in a great location. We do hope to welcome you to Polperro again soon.
- The Toad Hall Team
Really enjoyable holiday. Had zero interaction with caretaker or anyone from Toad Hall during our stay but knew we could get in touch if needed. Clear instructions left to help use TV/electricals/dehumidifier. Location was perfect and Cottage clean on arrival. If we decide to hire out a cottage in Polperro again in the future we'll be using Toad Hall
Only criticism was that had to wait for the properties parking space to become vacant and received no apology when the man who had parked there returned!!
Beautiful cottage. Plenty of room for 2 people. Gorgeous views from living room window. We will definitely be booking for next year
HAD A LOVELY WEEKEND ATTENDING A FAMILY WEDDING FORTUNATALLY THE WEATHER WAS BLISS AND THE SIZE AND LOCATION WE CHOOSE MADE IT A PERFECT WEEKEND . HAVE SUNG YOUR PRAISES TO ALL OUR FRIENDS. THANK YOU
The property has a fantastic view of the harbour from the lounge window, an excellent kitchen and all the comforts you would have at home. The only thing it lacks is a outside patio area and the toilet area is very small, but overall this is a very good property.