Known as the “Capital of the New Forest”, the Royal Manor of Lyndhurst has been visited by kings and queens throughout the centuries. Established as a royal hunting ground in 1079, the origins of its name are found in the Old English words lind (lime tree) and hyrst (wooded hill). The pre-Raphaelite church of St Michael and All Angels overlooks the village and is admired for its frescos and stained-glass windows, while the New Forest Museum offers visitors a fascinating guide to the history and heritage of this ancient hinterland. Lyndhurst has a mélange of independent shops, art galleries, cafes and tea rooms, pubs, and hotels. Popular English folklore has the village as a stage for dragon-slaying: Sir Berkeley ‘The Valiant’ and his pack of hounds defeating the dragon after thirty days and thirty nights of battle that raged through the forest. Legend has it that the dragon drew its final breath on Boltons Bench hill, just outside the village, where it’s body turned into the yew tree that’s rooted there today.
The delightful, 3 bedroomed, semi-detached Camellia Cottage (sleeps 6) is peacefully situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in a residential area of Lyndhurst, yet within walking distance of the bustling high street. Renovated to a high standard, it offers couples or families comfortable accommodation in the heart of the New Forest.